Facebook Twitter

Home

Writing as Jeremiah Moss, creator of the popular and incendiary blog Vanishing New York, Griffin Hansbury presents an unflinching chronicle of gentrification in the twenty-first century and a love letter to lost New York.

Read more at HarperCollins

Reviews
“Essential reading for fans of Jane Jacobs, Joseph Mitchell, Patti Smith, Luc Sante, and cheap pierogi.” –Vanity Fair

“This is a very good, angrily passionate, and ultimately saddening book…. a brilliantly written and well-informed account.” –Booklist, starred review

“Vanishing New York is an urban-activist polemic in the tradition of Jane Jacobs’s Death and Life of Great American Cities: Every page is charged with Moss’s deep love of New York. It is both a vital and unequivocally depressing read.” –Village Voice

“a compelling and often necessary read…. One of the great accomplishments of this nearly 500-page polemic, is that even as I read through in a state of outrage and sadness, I was also reassured: I am not crazy. The city really has vanished…” –Daily Beast

“a vigorous, righteously indignant book that would do Jane Jacobs proud.” –Kirkus

“This polemic is likely to stir a lot of emotions.”—Publishers Weekly

“A relevant lamentation of New York’s rebellious, nonconformist past and its path toward an inexpressive mélange of glass and steel big box stores and chain restaurants.”
–New York Journal of Books

Advanced Praise:
“Jeremiah Moss came to the party that is New York City just in time to see it turn into a wake. The New York of poets and weirdoes and cranks and outsiders and keepers of various flames–and of ordinary hard-working sorts with no aspirations to stardom or wealth–has pretty much receded into memory now, and Jeremiah has become that memory. His book is lucid, eloquent, phenomenally detailed, and terribly sad. Future generations, assuming there are any, will read it in wonder and disbelief.”
— Luc Sante

“I haven’t read a more impassioned book in over a decade. Jeremiah Moss writes like a man who has lost the love of his life to a junk bond trader. Vanishing New York is angry, incredulous, but also full of insight into a city of legend, where every legend happened to be true.”
– Gary Shteyngart

“Vanishing New York is necessary reading for anyone who wants to understand — borough by borough, neighborhood store by neighborhood store — just how the greatest city on earth ended up being like everywhere else. But this book is so much more than that: meticulously researched, thoroughly reported, at once memoir and a collection of life stories, a call to arms and a soul cry, Vanishing New York, at the end of the day, is a love letter to originality and the human spirit. Grab a knish and settle in.”
–Charles Bock

“For those of us who’ve watched hopelessly as our beautiful city has turned into an assortment of Duane Reades and Starbucks, this book is a must-read. Jeremiah Moss bears witness on our behalf, and puts it all into brilliant perspective.”
–Andy Cohen, host and executive producer, “Watch What Happens Live With Andy Cohen”